What are the different classes of Mucopolysaccharide?

What are the different classes of Mucopolysaccharide?


  • MPS I (Hurler syndrome; Hurler-Scheie syndrome; Scheie syndrome)
  • MPS II (Hunter syndrome)
  • MPS III (Sanfilippo syndrome)
  • MPS IV (Morquio syndrome)

What is the most common type of mucopolysaccharidosis?

MPS I is the most common. There are several other types of MPSs, including: MPS II (Hunter syndrome) MPS III (Sanfilippo syndrome)

What are mucopolysaccharides with examples?

Chondroitin sulphate and heparin are examples for mucopolysaccharides from animal sources used for inner and outer medical applications. The chemical composition of these polymers depends strongly on the derived source (animal or plant species).

What is mucopolysaccharidosis Type 3?

Mucopolysaccharidosis type III (MPS III), also known as Sanfilippo syndrome, is a progressive disorder that primarily affects the brain and spinal cord (central nervous system). It is characterized by deterioration of neurological function (neurodegeneration), resulting in many of the features of the condition.

What is MPS Type 2?

Mucopolysaccharidosis type II (MPS II), also known as Hunter syndrome, is a rare inherited lysosomal storage disease in which the body is missing or does not have enough of an enzyme needed to break down long chains of sugar molecules called glycosaminoglycans (GAGs).

What is Maroteaux Lamy Syndrome?

Mucopolysaccharidosis type VI (MPS VI), also known as Maroteaux-Lamy syndrome, is a progressive condition that causes many tissues and organs to enlarge, become inflamed or scarred, and eventually waste away (atrophy). Skeletal abnormalities are also common in this condition.

What is Hunter disease?

Hunter syndrome is a very rare, inherited genetic disorder caused by a missing or malfunctioning enzyme. In Hunter syndrome, the body doesn’t have enough of the enzyme iduronate 2-sulfatase.

Is heparin a Mucopolysaccharide?


What age does Sanfilippo start?

Children with Sanfilippo syndrome frequently exhibit behavioral issues, often starting between the ages of 3 to 5 (depending on subtype). These issues tend to considerably affect the lives of family members, and can resemble those of autism.

What is MPS VI?