What is a Hall of Fame finalist?

What is a Hall of Fame finalist?

The Pro Football Hall of Fame is revealing the modern-era finalists for the Class of 2022 on Thursday, highlighted by three players who made the cut in their first year of eligibility: wide receiver Andre Johnson, linebacker DeMarcus Ware and returner Devin Hester.

How does the NFL Hall of Fame work?

To be eligible for the nominating process, a player or coach must have been retired for at least five years; any other contributor such as a team owner or executive can be voted in at any time. Fans may nominate any player, coach or contributor by simply writing via letter or email to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

How many NFL Hall of Fame finalists are there?

It may not even have candidates like Charles Woodson and Calvin Johnson, who were enshrined in the Hall of Fame as part of last year’s ceremony. Still, there are plenty of talented players that will — and should — be inducted. There just aren’t as many clear cut-and-dry cases among the 15 finalists for 2022.

What does it mean to be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

Often individual teams and even the Hall of Fame will list enshrinees according to the team or teams on which they spent a significant period of time. When elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, an individual is recognized for his accomplishments as a player, coach, or contributor.

What makes a Hall of Famer?

Prospective Ultimate Hall of Fame candidates include age-eligible current/former players with a distinguished record of competitive achievement at the highest national and/or international levels during the Peak Playing Years for the respective year of the Hall process.

Is Steven Jackson a Hall of Famer?

The Hall of Fame announced on Wednesday that Torry Holt and Steven Jackson are among the nominees for next year’s class. Jackson played nine seasons with the Rams, rushing for 10,138 yards and 56 touchdowns in his career with St. Louis.