What is semilunar line?

What is semilunar line?

Linea semilunaris, sometimes referred to as the semilunar line or Spigelian line, makes the set of visibly well-developed abdominal muscles (also called as “six-pack”) that athletes desire possible. It also binds the muscles in the anterolateral abdominal wall together.

How is linea semilunaris formed?

Structure. The linea semilunaris corresponds with the lateral border of the rectus abdominis muscle. It extends from the cartilage of the ninth rib to the pubic tubercle. It is formed by the aponeurosis of the internal oblique at its line of division to enclose the rectus.

Where is Linea Arcuata located?

The arcuate line or semicircular line of Douglas is located at roughly one-third of the distance from the pubic crest to the umbilicus.

What are the linea alba and linea semilunaris?

The linea alba separates the right and left rectus abdominis muscles. Linea semilunaris forms the lateral border of the rectus abdominis muscles bilaterally. The rectus sheath, which covers the rectus abdominis muscle, is comprised of both anterior and posterior layers.

Where does the linea alba start and end?

In humans, the linea alba runs from the xiphoid process to the pubic symphysis down the midline of the abdomen.

What is Spigelian fascia?

The spigelian fascia is a layer of tissue that separates the two muscle groups at the front of your abdomen. When a slit-like opening occurs in this fascia, it’s called a spigelian hernia. This condition usually affects the intestines and omentum, a layer of tissue that lies over the abdominal organs.

Why is the linea alba important?

Function. The linea alba stabilises the anterior abdominal wall, as it balances contractile forces from the muscles attached to it.

What is linea albicans?

li´neae albican´tes white or colorless lines on the abdomen, breasts, or thighs caused by mechanical stretching of the skin, with weakening of the elastic tissue; see also atrophic striae.

What is linea terminalis of pelvis?

Anatomical terminology The linea terminalis or innominate line consists of the pubic crest, pectineal line (pecten pubis), the arcuate line, the sacral ala, and the sacral promontory. It is the pelvic brim, which is the edge of the pelvic inlet.