Who is the current chairperson of Electoral Commission?

Who is the current chairperson of Electoral Commission?

On 18 November 2016, Justice Simon Byabakama was named as the Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Uganda, replacing Engineer Badru Kiggundu, whose 14-year, two-term reign had ended.

What is the function of NEC?

By Executive Order, the NEC has four principal functions: to coordinate policy-making for domestic and international economic issues, to coordinate economic policy advice for the President, to ensure that policy decisions and programs are consistent with the President’s economic goals, and to monitor implementation of …

What is National Election Commission?

The Election Commission of India (ECI) is an autonomous body under the ownership of Ministry of Law and Justice, Government of India. It is established by the Constitution of India directly to ensure free and fair elections in the country.

Who elects the election commissioner?

Chief Election Commissioner of India
Election Commission of India
Nominator Council of Ministers
Appointer President of India
Term length 6 years or up to 65 years of age (whichever is earlier)

When was NEC formed?

North Eastern Council (NEC) was constituted as a statutory advisory body under the NEC Act 1971 (84 of 1971) and came into being on the 7th November, 1972 at Shillong. During its inauguration, the then Hon’ble Prime Minister Smt.

What is the meaning of NEC?

not elsewhere
n.e.c. in American English abbreviation. not elsewhere classified. Most material © 2005, 1997, 1991 by Penguin Random House LLC.

Who was the first Chief Election Commissioner?

Sukumar Sen (2 January 1898 – 13 May 1963) was an Indian civil servant who was the first Chief Election Commissioner of India, serving from 21 March 1950 to 19 December 1958.