Why was McLaren excluded 2007?

Why was McLaren excluded 2007?

The FIA World Motor Sport Council fined the McLaren-Mercedes Formula One team $100 million–the largest fine ever given by the FIA–and excluded it from the 2007 constructors’ championship, after a hearing in Paris today regarding McLaren’s part in the Ferrari industrial espionage scandal.

Who won f1 championship 2007?

Kimi Räikkönen
Kimi Räikkönen, the 2007 World Drivers’ Champion with 110 points, his only title in his first year with Ferrari. Lewis Hamilton, runner-up with 109 points.

Who won the Constructors championship 2007?

2007 Formula 1 season facts and figures Lewis Hamilton was second and Fernando Alonso third. Ferrari won the championship for constructors. 11 constructors and 26 drivers participated in 17 races during the 58th season of the FIA Formula One World Championchip.

What engines did f1 use in 2007?

Engine specification progression

Years Operating principle Maximum displacement
Naturally aspirated
2008 4-stroke piston 2.4 L

Did McLaren spy on Ferrari?

On 16 July 2007, McLaren announced that its own internal investigation had revealed that “no Ferrari materials or data are or have ever been in the possession of any McLaren employee other than the individual sued by Ferrari.

Did McLaren pay 100m fine?

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, Belgium — McLaren Mercedes, the leading team in the Formula One championship, was fined $100 million Thursday and excluded from the constructors’ title in the spying scandal that has plagued the sport all season.

Who won F1 in 2008?

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton won the Drivers’ title by a point – by overtaking Toyota’s Timo Glock on the final corner of the final lap of the final Grand Prix of the season to claim the required 5th-place finish to win the championship – from Brazilian Felipe Massa, while Massa’s teammate, the 2007 world champion Kimi Räikkönen.

Who won 2009 F1?

Jenson Button
The 2009 Formula One season was the 60th FIA Formula One World Championship season. There were ten teams signed up to compete in the championship. Jenson Button became the Drivers’ World Champion and Brawn GP won the Constructors’ title.